Outbidding Ebay

Milk Glass Sugar ShakerSeveral years ago, my mother gave me her Snowflake Garland Pyrex mixing bowls and casserole dishes (above). As a kid, these were the bowls I made batches and batches of cookies, and many meals were served from the casserole dishes. And then there is her milk glass sugar shaker with its heavy-duty drip cut spout and fun daisy flowers that made its way to my kitchen (and I just recently discovered matches my new fiestaware!). They are all very dear to this foodie. So recently I started trolling ebay and thrift stores for their missing pieces, eager to have my set complete.

Last night while concocting various off-the-beaten-path search terms for these elusive pieces, I stumbled across a milk glass mixing bowl by Fire King that reminded me of another piece of kitchen inheritance from my late Grandma Bonnie Nelson.
Grandma Bonnie's Fire KingFor several years, this unassuming utilitarian powder-blue bowl has claimed its storage real estate on a higher shelf and was reserved only for serving. Today I relocated it to nest between its milk glass Pyrex relatives. (Side note: I learned early not to take ANY cherished pieces to potlucks after my inability to remember to take said dish home resulted in flat-out panic. Happy ending, I got it back.)

Despite the electronic powers of Ebay and Etsy loudly proclaiming the worth of these pieces higher than I would have ever thought, I have decided there is more worth in using my family vintage to create family memories of my own, rather than keeping them in pristine condition for pristine condition’s sake. I must admit, I do treat them a little softer than my other kitchen swag, because, I am a self-proclaimed butter-fingers!  I just can’t help but smile a bit in the middle of measuring my sourdough starter, making sweet dough for kuga, or whipping up pancakes in those sweet bowls. These pieces, after all, were used by hands I still love to hold (my mom), and used to hold in days past (my grandma).

They are the source of my new hashtag, #kitchenhappy.

Hey, Ebay: you have been outbid.

1 thought on “Outbidding Ebay

Leave a comment